The Mornington cable car calendar displays various street scenes from the Mornington cable car’s running days and in preservation.
The Mornington Cable Car ran in Dunedin between the City and Mornington, from 1883 to 1957. It ran up High Street to Eglinton Road. This was the second Dunedin cable car route, the first being Roslyn in 1881. The other major service was the Kaikorai line, from 1900 to 1947. At Mornington, the Maryhill feeder line connected with the High Street service 1885-1916 and 1921-1955; and in the early 1900s, a short-lived line served Elgin Road in upper Mornington.
The calendar is published by the Dunedin Heritage Light Rail Trust, which was formed to reinstate this iconic service, which once was, and in the future again shall be, one of only two street-running cable cars in the world (San Francisco the other).